This autumn I had the pleasure of conducting 2 in-country workshops on “Children’s TV Programmes” organized by AIBD with the support of NRK. The first workshop was held in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, hosted by National Television of Cambodia (TVK) from 14 to 18 October with a group of 12 participants. Then I conducted the second activity with 11 participants from Radio Television Brunei (RTB) in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei from 4 to 9 November 2013.

The AIBD/Hoso Bunka Foundation (HBF) Regional Workshop on Creative Content for Children’s Programmes was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 28 October to 1 November 2013. The workshop brought participants from broadcast organizations in Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

The AIBD in collaboration with Tun Abdul Razak Institute of Broadcasting & Information (IPPTAR) organised a Regional Workshop on Entertainment TV Formats from 23 – 27 September 2013 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The consultant was Mr. Stéphane Bouillaud supported by Canal France International (CFI).

AIBD/Prasar Bharati/STI-T sub-regional workshop on migration from analogue to digital broadcasting was held from 23 to 27 September 2013 in New Delhi, India. The workshop was organised by AIBD in collaboration with Prasar Bharat/ STI-(T). The aims of this workshop were to facilitate and support broadcasting engineers towards proper selection, planning and implementation from analogue to digital migration.

In response to a request by Bhutan Media and Communications Institute (BMCI) who joined as one of AIBD’s affiliate members in 2013, AIBD organised and collaborated with BMCI to implement the two week Training of Trainers workshop in Thimpu, Bhutan from 17-27 September 2013.

UNESCO and partners including AIBD have opened registration for the Global Forum on Media and Gender (GFMG), which will be held in Bangkok, Thailand from 2 to 4 December 2013.